Masjid Kampung Kling is situated at Jalan Tukang Emas (Goldsmith Street), also known as “Harmony Street” because of its proximity to the Sri Poyatha Moorthi Temple and Cheng Hoon Teng Temple.
The original structure built by Indian Muslim traders in 1748 was a wooden building and in 1872, it was rebuilt in brick. The mosque is one of the traditional mosques in Melaka, which still retains its original design. The architectural design of the mosque is a cross between Sumatran, Chinese, Hindu and the Melaka Malay. The minaret, ablution pool and entrance arch were built at the same time with the main building. Masjid Kampung Kling is named based on the place where Indian traders dwell in that place called Kampung Kling.
Instead of a conventional spherical dome, a triple-tiered green pyramidal roof sits on top of its main building. A pagoda-style structure forms its minaret and combined with some Moorish elements, is an exquisite example of East-meets-West design. The mosque’s interior features English and Portuguese glazed tiles, Corinthian columns and arches, a Victorian chandelier and a mixture of Hindu, Chinese and Malay decorative elements. Its harmonious blend of styles and design elements from different cultures that results in an aesthetically-pleasing whole very much reflects the multicultural state.
In 1999, after a restoration exercise by the Department of Museum and Antiquity, it was declared a